Chow Chow

I don’t actually remember eating this but I do remember how excited my Dad was the summer Mom made this.  I bet I would love it now.

1 gallon chopped cabbage
12 onions
12 green peppers
12 red peppers
2 quarts chopped green tomatoes
5 cups sugar (season to your own taste – this is what the directions say)
4 Tbsp. ground mustard
1 Tbsp. turmeric
1 Tbsp. ground ginger
4 Tbsp. mustard seed (I assume yellow)
3 Tbsp. celery seed
2 Tbsp. mixed whole spices (I think this is also called pickling spice)
2-3 quarts vinegar (I assume white vinegar)

Chop onions, peppers. Mix all vegetables with 1/2 cup salt. Let stand overnight.
Drain.
Tie mixed whole spice in a bag (made from cheese cloth). Add sugar, spices and vinegar. Simmer 20 minutes. Add all other ingredients and simmer until hot and well-seasoned. Remove spice bag. Pack hot into hot jars. Seal at once.

The directions do not continue but I would also put this in a hot water bath (cover sealed jars by at least 1 inch of water) and process (in simmering water) for 10 minutes.

Leave a Reply

