Jewish Apple Cake

No, I didn’t make up the name of this cake. A group of my Jewish friends assure me that they call this cake the same thing. Go figure.

3 cups flour
2 cups sugar
4 eggs
1 cup oil
½ cup orange juice (I never have orange juice so I substitute canned pineapple juice)
1 teaspoon salt
3 teaspoons baking powder
1 teaspoon vanilla

Mix all together. (I used the electric mixer)

In a separate bowl, combine:
5 – 6 apples, peeled and sliced thin
2 teaspoons cinnamon
5 teaspoons sugar (more or less depending on your apples)

In a greased 10” tube pan layer half the batter, then half the apples, top with remaining batter and remaining apples.

Bake 350º for 1½ hours

Leave a Reply

